Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Book Review: Christmas At The Borrow a Bookshop By Kiley Dunbar

Plot:

With just two weeks until Christmas, everything in Clove Lore should be perfect. But the latest holidaymaker to the Borrow a Bookshop is feeling far from festive…

Icelandic ex-bookseller Magnús Sturluson might be surrounded by love stories in the Bookshop, but he’s nursing a sadness that not even fiction can fix.

When Alexandra Robinson finds herself stranded in Clove Lore, she finds a safe place to hide from heartbreak. After all, all that’s waiting for her at home is a cheater boyfriend and the memories of her parents. As Alex finds herself embraced by the quirky village community, she finds her tough exterior thawing – and as she grows closer to Magnús, she finds an equally soft heart under his gruff shell.

It seems that Clove Lore is working its magic once again – until a great flood on Christmas Eve brings devastation in its wake. It’s up to Magnús and Alex to batten down the hatches and help bring the village back together again, while also introducing the locals to the Icelandic tradition of the jólabókaflóð – Yule book flood – where families and friends gather on Christmas Eve to exchange books and read together.

But can Magnús and Alex truly rescue the ruins of the village, and salvage their Christmas spirit? Or is there another complication lurking even closer than they thought?

A totally uplifting read that will lighten the winter gloom, for fans of Jenny Colgan and Trisha Ashley. Booklovers will adore this seasonal treat!

Review:

I never realised this novel was a part of a series! Let’s just say this novel has me vibing on Christmas any time of the year!

I was so excited to have the opportunity to read this, especially because it felt like my very own Christmas in July!

I love reading novels that transport me to a new place and quaint towns/villages happen to be one of my favourites! I loved all the townsfolk of Clove Lore and learning about all their quirks. I especially enjoyed Magnus and Alex and their specific stories alone and together. You can’t help but root for them to find happiness, especially after what they have both been through.

This novel makes you feel all sorts of emotions so it is a definite pick me up and feel-good one.

Also, borrowing a bookshop sounds like a dream and I wish this was a thing in real life (is it? I need to know!)

This was such a cosy, romantic read that also really lets the community of characters shine where you can see the characters are very well developed.

I can’t wait to see who will be borrowing the bookshop next.

4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: