Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Book Review: Stargazer By Laurie Petrou

Plot:

Summer 1995. Diana and Aurelle are inseparable, living together in Diana’s parents’ cottage on the edge of the Rocky Barrens University campus, about to start freshman year. The strength of their bond is undeniable, if unexpected: Diana is a highly ambitious, socially awkward art student while Aurelle is a more likeable, more fragile literature student and the daughter of famous artist Marianne Taylor. Plus, despite having lived next door to each other their whole lives, the girls have only grown close in the last twelve months.

As the college year progresses, their relationship becomes increasingly unstable, as do the girls themselves, threatening to unravel due to the intense feelings and complicated circumstances that underlie their bond. Yet, the biggest threat is posed by a secret one girl is keeping…

The lines between love, envy and obsession blur in Laurie Petrou’s utterly enthralling, unceasingly tense second novel. A darkly compelling coming-of-age thriller, perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, or Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies.

Review:

Again, I liked the idea of this plot however it didn’t turn out to be as good as it was hyped up to be. This novel is about obsession, envy and friendship and beyond creepy at times. Claiming that Diana and Aurelle are the same person, sleeping and cuddling each other I was confused at if this was an obsession or lesbian attraction. I did feel like it dragged out a lot at times with the descriptions and so forth.

Why compare this to The Secret History? All the characters did was complain a lot and seemed to unhealthy need each other too much.

Although in this novel it has a dream style vibe- with the drugs and the highly privileged thing going on, like a female version of Bret Easton Ellis in my opinion if you are going to make any comparisons.

Stargazer is an enjoyable read that uses a dark vibes to explore the darker sides of female friendship and how such bonds can be toxic. Fans of this type of feeling will enjoy this kind of book more.

3/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: